Monday, 28 November 2011

BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2011

Yes, it's that time of year again when viewers will vote for the BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2011 (thank goodness for copy/paste!).

The nominations are in and likely to cause a bit of a stir.

First of all - no women. That will upset the feminists and those who like to admire female beauty. But never mind, beach volleyball will be at the Olympics next year so that will keep everyone happy, especially me if the wife lets me watch.

The full shortlist of ten is:

Mark Cavendish (cycling)
Darren Clarke (golf)
Alastair Cook (cricket)
Luke Donald (golf)
Mo Farah (athletics)
Dai Greene (athletics)
Amir Khan (boxing)
Rory McIlroy (golf)
Andy Murray (tennis)
Andrew Strauss (cricket)

An interesting list and all are dedicated and highly motivated sportsmen.

My betting is on either Darren Clarke or Rory McIlroy, with Andy Murray possibly up there as well.

It would be particulalry fitting for Darren Clarke to win, having been runner up in 2006, not long after the death of his wife. He stated then he did not want a sympathy vote.

This year he won the Open Championship, a major achievement for any golfer. That is worthy of the award and would certainly be a popular choice.

No comments:

Post a Comment